New for Q4 2025
Whizkids are publising FAQs and errata quarterly
Send your official questions to stiu_faq@wizkids.com
Important: read the official FAQs first for clarifications. stiu.site intends to provide more live active FAQ narrative from fans about playing the game.
Official FAQs - Q1 2025 please checkout the FAQs here first, we try and not duplicate them here and will remove those that have official answers
These questions and answers are unofficial fan discussions on Facebook and Discord, summarized here but are not definitive answers, for those go to the Whizkids FAQ above first!
If you would like to discuss, clarify or correct an unofficial FAQ email: stiusite@proton.me
The following FAQ relate to the abilities of ships, officers, and other game elements
Can you swap officers between stations in the same section of a ship during the Priority Phase?
No, you cannot. A station must be empty for a ready officer in the same section (such as the bridge) to move to it and perform a priority action. Officers can only be moved from a station during the Ready Phase.
Officer Placement: An officer can be assigned to a specific station or simply to a general section (e.g., "the bridge"). It is often more flexible to assign officers to a section rather than a specific station.
Commodore: A Commodore must begin the game in a Captain's Chair station. However, during the game, they can use any station within comms range from their flagship's Captain's Chair, even if another officer is assigned to it, but they can only apply their skill values if the station is not occupied by a committed officer.
Station Availability: Stations become available in the standby phase regardless of officer status. In the Ready Phase, stations with ready officers become available. An officer can also be placed in a section (not a specific station) and later be committed to an empty station for a priority action.
Do the green and yellow symbols on a ship's transport ability mean that you can only transport at those alert statuses, and that it doesn't use power?
Yes, that is correct. The green and yellow symbols indicate that the transport ability is only available when the ship is at those alert statuses. Transporting personnel during the standby phase does not require spending any energy or power.
When a Commodore uses their ability to act through another unit, which unit is affected by their abilities, and which unit can be supported by other officers?
When a Commodore uses their ability, they are treated as if they are at the station of the target unit. Therefore, any abilities that affect "their unit" (e.g., Inspiring) would affect the target unit, not the Commodore's flagship. Similarly, to provide support for the Commodore's action, other officers like Bashir or Sisko must be on the target unit.
Can a Commodore issue a special priority order if they are committed (not ready)?
No, a Commodore must be ready to issue a special priority order, as this action requires them to be committed to the task.
Can a Commodore issue a special priority order to a station that already has a committed officer?
No, a Commodore must be ready to issue a special priority order, as this action requires them to be committed to the task.
Does an officer always have to be assigned to the Captain's Chair, and can only the highest-ranking officer be assigned to it?
No, an officer only has to be assigned to the Captain's Chair at the start of the game. Similarly, the highest-ranking officer is only required to be in the chair at the start. After the game begins, any officer can be assigned to the Captain's Chair.
Can a committed officer still contribute their stats to passive Ready Phase abilities, such as generating power?
Yes, they can. A committed officer still has their stats available for passive Ready Phase abilities. For example, an officer with a high Tricorder skill who is committed to a station in the Engineering section can still add their skill value to the power generation that occurs at the end of the Ready Phase. This is because these are not "actions" that require a new commitment.
When giving a priority order, can an officer move to an open station in a different colored section?
No, an officer can only be freely assigned to an empty station within their current colored section. Moving an officer to a different section of the ship requires a separate "relocate" action, which can only be done during the Ready Phase (with exceptions for teams, transporters, and shuttles). An officer cannot "swap" or "push" another officer out of a station during the priority phase. The station must be empty for the officer to be assigned to it.
During the priority phase, can a ready officer move to another bridge location to use a different station?
Yes, as long as the officer is already on the bridge (which is considered a single, connected location), they can be assigned to any open station on the bridge. "Moving" an officer only refers to changing to a different colored section of the ship. Therefore, you do not need to use a relocate action to move an officer to a different station within the same section, as long as that station is empty. Additionally, a ready officer can attach or detach from a team at the same location.
Is decommitting an officer from a station but keeping them in the same section considered a relocate during the ready phase?
No, you do not need to use a relocate action to simply decommit an officer and make their station available. You can leave the station open, and an uncommitted officer in the same section can then be assigned to it for a priority order without a relocate. Relocating is only necessary when moving an officer between different sections of the ship (e.g., from the Bridge to the Medbay).
Can a unique action on an officer's card, such as Eris's "Sow Discord," be taken by a different officer or as a standby action?
No, unique actions on an officer card must be led by that specific officer. However, the action can be initiated as a Commodore action.
In the Cargo section's "Ready Officer" ability, can you use energy to ready an officer in a different section of the ship?
No, the "Ready Officer" ability in the Cargo section can only be used to ready an officer who is "here" (in the Cargo section). You cannot use this ability to ready an officer in a different section, such as Tactical.
What exactly does "location" refer to in the game, such as for the abilities of Dominion officers?
A "location" refers to a specific place where officers and teams can be assigned, including:
Away team locations (such as a planet or a station).
The sections of a ship, which are indicated by different colors (Fore, Aft, Bridge, etc.).
Other ships that have been boarded.
Does the Medbay's "heal personnel here" action affect the ship's Crew dial in addition to officers and teams?
Yes, the "heal personnel here" action at the Medbay affects the ship's Crew dial. This is specified on page 33 of the Learn to Play guide. This means the action can be used to recover a ship's crew value, which has been reduced from forming a team or taking an attack, as well as to heal officers and teams in the Medbay section. See also official FAQ for clarification of “personnel here”
If all officers on a ship become incapacitated, what are your options to save them?
An incapacitated officer cannot be committed to a priority action. However, they can still be moved during the Ready Phase. Your options to save them include:
Move to Medbay: During the Ready Phase, move the incapacitated officers to the Medbay section. In the next round, the ship can perform a standby action to heal the officers.
Form a Team: You can form a team on the ship. The incapacitated officers can be attached to this new team.
Transport: Once attached to a team, the entire unit (team and officers) can be transported to another ship. You can also transport a ready officer from another ship onto the incapacitated ship to perform a healing action.
Shuttle: You can launch a shuttle and move the incapacitated officers onto it to get them off the ship.
It's important to note that you cannot use an incapacitated officer to initiate a transport action.
When a "Fire Weapons" or "Assault" action includes multiple attacks, is the officer leading the test for all of them or just the first?
The officer is considered to be leading the entire action, not just the first attack. While some skills like "Ordnance" or "Skirmish" only add expertise dice to the first attack, other officer abilities, such as those of Worf, Sisko, or Bashir, would still apply to all subsequent attacks within that same action. This means a player can strategically use an officer to lead a multiple-attack action and apply their abilities to each attack.
Is the "engineering" skill listed on the Engineering Team's & Damage Control Teams "Emergency Repairs" ability a typo?
Yes, it has been confirmed by the community that this is a typo. The ability should likely reference the "Mechanics" skill, as this aligns with the skills used by other repair- and damage-control-focused teams and is the intended skill for repair actions in the game. An official FAQ rules update confirms this. This applies to the Damage Control Team and the Engineering Team.
The following FAQ relate to officer keywords, weapon keywords, unit keywords, object keywords, and other keywords
Is there a time limit, or this permanent once you Inspire them.
When you "Inspire" a unit, the effect is permanent. If the unit's crew dial is at its starting value or higher (but below its maximum), you increase the dial. If the crew dial is already at its maximum value or is below its starting value, the unit gains an advantage token instead. These benefits are not lost over time.
Does the "Medic X" keyword on an officer affect the ship's crew dial in addition to officers and teams?
This is a point of confusion due to inconsistent wording between the rulebooks and the cards themselves.
The rulebook's "HEAL" definition states it affects officers and the crew dial.
The "Medic X" keyword definition on the card only explicitly mentions officers and teams.
The community has reached the following conclusions:
The general rule is that keyword definitions in the Advanced Rules supersede any abbreviated text on a card.
The "HEAL" rule is likely intended to be a broad category for all "healing" effects, and the "Medic" keyword would fall under this category.
The fact that the core set's rules do not mention teams in the "HEAL" section is likely an oversight.
Therefore, the consensus is that the "Medic X" keyword should be able to affect the ship's crew dial in addition to officers and teams. The community has flagged this for official clarification in a future FAQ.
How does the "Pierce" keyword work, specifically regarding multiple attacks within a single "Fire Weapons" action?
The "Pierce" keyword, if activated, reduces the target's shield value for the entire duration of the "Fire Weapons" action, not just for the attack that activated it.
Single Action: The "Fire Weapons" action is a single action, even though it may contain multiple individual attacks (e.g., from different weapons).
Shield Reduction: If a "Pierce" attack is successful and you choose to apply its effect, the target's shield value is reduced for all subsequent attacks within that same action. This can affect even weapons that do not have the Pierce keyword.
Cumulative Limit: The reduction is limited by the "Pierce X" value, and this limit is cumulative across all attacks in the action.
Strategic Implication: This makes the order of attacks within a "Fire Weapons" action very important. You might choose to fire a Pierce weapon first to weaken the shields and then follow up with other, more powerful weapons to do more damage to the now-reduced shields or hull.
The following FAQ relate to ships and auxiliary units
What is the alert status of an auxiliary craft (e.g., a shuttle) for an anomaly test that depends on it?
Auxiliary craft, such as shuttles, do not have an alert dial and therefore do not have an alert status. In situations where an anomaly test's result depends on the alert level, a similar scenario from Campaign Mission 3 suggests that these units should be treated as if they were on Green Alert.
When a ship at a system boundary launches an auxiliary unit that would be deployed outside the system, what happens?
The rules do not explicitly cover this scenario, but the community has come up with a house rule that seems to be the most logical and thematic. It is agreed that the auxiliary unit is not lost. The consensus is to place the auxiliary unit at the closest possible point to the launching ship while remaining within the system, or to give it a system token to signify it is on the system boundary.
Do auxiliary units and separated saucers activate during the standby phase?
Yes, auxiliary units, including separated saucers, activate during the standby phase following the same rules as ships. They can also be given priority orders during the Priority Phase if they have officers on board.
If a ship uses its standby action to launch a shuttle can that shuttle can perform its own action during the same standby phase.?
Yes, auxiliary units, including separated saucers, activate during the standby phase following the same rules as ships.
Can auxiliary units, such as shuttles or probes, be launched from a ship at a system boundary into deep space, or vice-versa?
Yes, if a ship is located on a system boundary, it can launch auxiliary units into deep space. The reverse is also true: a ship in deep space can launch a torpedo into a system, provided the unit can reach its destination. This opens up various strategic possibilities, such as using flybys to deploy units or firing torpedoes into a system from a safe distance.
If a ship is equipped with a "Runabout Berth," what are the rules for deploying runabouts?
The "Runabout Berth" equipment allows a ship to launch runabouts instead of shuttles. You do not have to pay additional flex points (FP) for the runabouts themselves, as the cost is included in the equipment's price and the action cost.
Launch Limits: A player can have a maximum of three friendly shuttles or runabouts on the table at one time. A single ship can theoretically launch all three if it has the upgrades and actions to do so.
Launch Actions: A ship could launch a runabout as a priority action and potentially a second one as a standby action in the same round.
Different Auxiliary Units: The three-unit limit applies only to shuttles and runabouts, which are a specific subtype of auxiliary unit. Other auxiliary units, such as a separated Galaxy class saucer, do not count toward this limit.
Flex Points: The FP cost for runabouts listed on their card is only relevant in specific mission scenarios where you are assigned a "non-specified shuttle" and can choose to spend flex points to get a runabout instead.
Are "Runabouts" a type of unit you can directly purchase at the start of an Incident Mission, and do they come with Line Officers?
No, you cannot directly purchase a "Runabout" at the start of a mission. The cost listed on the back of the Runabout card is for upgrading a "Type-6 Shuttle" to a "Runabout" in missions where you have been assigned a Federation shuttle as part of your fleet. This has been confirmed by a game designer as an upcoming clarification in a new FAQ. Additionally, Runabouts do not come with a Line Officer. Line Officers are only provided with the main ships in your fleet.
The community has also noted that the term "TP" (transfer points) on the card is a typo and should be "FP" (flex points). This is a known issue that will be corrected in a future reprint.
Can you always add Runabouts to your fleet by spending Flex Points (FP) during mission setup?
No, you cannot. You can only use Flex Points to get a Runabout if the mission's setup instructions specifically state that you are assigned a Federation shuttle. In that scenario, you can then spend 2 Flex Points to upgrade that shuttle to a Runabout. You cannot simply buy a Runabout to add to your fleet at any time.
When attacking with auxiliary units like shuttles or teams, why would you choose to use less than their maximum available weapons power?
While it is generally beneficial to use the maximum power on a single attack, there are specific tactical reasons to use less:
Multiple Attacks: Some units, like the Jem'Hadar Assault Team, have the ability to make multiple attacks. By spending less than the maximum power on the first attack, you can save energy to make a second attack on the same or a different target. This is useful for finishing off a weakened target and then engaging another.
Directive-Based Scoring: In certain missions with directives, such as the Dominion's exploration directive, you might use less power to deal health damage multiple times, or to perform a hostile act to flip the directive to an aggressive state and then gain a point on a subsequent attack.
Targeting: It might be beneficial to deal a smaller amount of damage to a target to avoid destroying it if the mission rewards you for disabling it rather than destroying it.
When the Galaxy class separates, what happens to the crew dial of the star drive section?
The star drive section's card has a misprint on its crew maximum values. When you separate the saucer, you should refer to the values on the back of the star drive card (2 Command, 3 Ops, and 3 Science), as these are the correct values. The crew dial should then be set to these values if it is currently higher.
If an opposing assault team boards the Galaxy class ship at the bridge section on the same turn that the ship plans to separate, what happens?
Can the ship still separate? Yes, the ship can still separate. The presence of an opposing team in a section takes that section's stations offline, but it does not prevent a "ready ability" like saucer separation from being used.
Where does the boarding team go? The rules state that if an enemy team is in a section that is separating, they are transported to the new location of the star drive section. This is interpreted as a "rules as written" quirk, as it is thematically bizarre but legally sound. The team does not get to choose where it goes; it is automatically transported to the star drive section.
Capturing Officers: An opposing team can capture officers at a location if they are vulnerable (e.g., not attached to a friendly team). There is no limit to how many officers a team can capture, even if the officers outnumber the team's capacity, which is also a point of discussion in the community.
The following FAQ relate to damage and damage cards
How do you repair hull damage in the game?
There are two main ways to repair hull damage:
Repairing the Hull Dial: This is typically done by engineering-style teams that have a specific ability to raise your hull dial when it's at red or amber. In campaign play, you can also repair the hull dial in drydock by spending points in the after-action section.
Repairing Damage Cards: This is a separate procedure to get rid of damage cards affecting a section. This repair action is a priority action that can be performed by officers at the designated repair station for that card, or by a ship or team using a standby action. If you succeed on the associated test, the damage card is discarded.
How can a player repair hull damage in the game?
There are several ways to repair hull damage:
Repairing Damage Cards: Each damage card adds a specific "Repair" action. A successful test will discard the damage card, but this does not repair the hull dial.
Emergency Repairs: This is an action that can be performed by an engineering team. It can only be taken when the ship's hull dial is at a Red or Amber status. A successful test will heal one hull point per success or breakthrough. There is some debate in the community on whether you can heal past the Yellow hull status with this action, but the most common interpretation is that there is no limit to how many hull points you can heal with a single action, as long as the test succeeds.
Campaign Drydock: In campaign play, ships that are not used in a mission are considered to be in drydock and automatically recover hull and crew. Additionally, you can spend Repair Points and Strategic Points (SP) to further repair ships on your roster.
"Engineering" Skill: It is noted that the "Engineering" skill listed on some cards is a known typo and should be interpreted as the "Mechanics" skill.
When a ship is attacked from a specific direction (e.g., the front), and a damage card is drawn that can only be applied to a different direction (e.g., "Aft only"), what happens?
If a drawn damage card cannot be applied to the current attack (due to arc or other restrictions), it is discarded and you draw another card until a valid one is found. If all valid cards for that section have already been dealt, it is assumed that no damage is applied from that hit.
Can an engineering team repair a damage card?
Based on a strict interpretation of the rules, no, a team cannot repair a damage card. The rules state that a damage card adds an action to "the affected station," and teams cannot perform actions at stations.
However, the discussion points out an apparent inconsistency where a game designer was seen allowing an engineering team to do this. The community consensus is that teams are better suited for repairing the hull dial itself (using an "Emergency Repairs" action when the ship is at red or orange status) and for other mission-specific actions, but not for repairing the specific effects of a damage card.
When defending against an attack, can a player choose to take damage to save energy for other actions, or are they forced to use their shields?
The rules state that a ship "must use its shields to reduce some or all of that damage." The community consensus is that this means a player must use as much reserve energy as possible to power their shields to reduce incoming damage.
The "some or all" wording is interpreted to mean that a player can only reduce damage up to the total of their current shield value and available reserve energy. You cannot selectively take damage to save energy. The intent of this rule is to make power management a critical part of the game; taking damage and losing power are often the primary goals of an attack, as it limits the enemy's options and can prevent them from escaping. The rule's design is meant to balance the game and prevent players from simply running away once their hull is damaged.
Is spending energy to block damage with shields optional?
No, it is not optional. If a ship has shields and is taking damage, the defender must spend reserve energy up to their shield value (in this case, 4) to block hits, until they run out of energy. The player is not given a choice on whether or not to use their shields.
Does an officer still take damage from the "Exploding Conduits" damage card if a "-" token is not spent to move the card?
Yes, the officer still takes damage. The ability to spend a "-" token to move the card is an option for the opponent, but it is not a prerequisite for the damage to occur. The damage to the officer is resolved during the hazard phase regardless of whether the card was moved.
Does the "Exploding Panels" damage card deal damage to an officer at its station in every Hazard Phase, or only when an opponent spends a Peril token to move it?
The "Exploding Panels" damage card's text is a bit ambiguous, but the community consensus is that it deals damage in every Hazard Phase, regardless of whether a Peril token is spent to move it. The damage to the officer is a separate effect from the opponent's ability to move the card by spending a Peril token.
When a "Exploding Panels" damage card is dealt, who decides which bridge station it is assigned to? Can this damage be repaired from two different locations (the affected station and the Medical Bay)?
Placement: The player who receives the damage card decides which station on the bridge it is initially assigned to. However, in the Hazard Phase, the opponent can spend one of your peril tokens to reassign the card.
Repair Locations: A damage card has two key components: the affected station (indicated by the icon at the top) and the repair station (indicated by the icon next to the "Repair" action at the bottom). The affected station is taken offline and can only be used for repair actions. The "Exploding Panels" card explicitly states that its repair action can only be taken at the Medical Bay, not the affected station. A different damage card might indicate that its repair action can be taken at the same station it is affecting. The repair action is specific to the damage card, so if you have multiple damage cards, you can have multiple repair actions, each with its own location.
If a Jem'Hadar fighter already has the "Inertial Dampener Failure" damage card and is attacked from the rear, is a new damage card dealt?
No, you do not draw a new damage card. The "Inertial Dampener Failure" card is the only damage card that can be assigned to a Jem'Hadar fighter's Aft section. Therefore, if it is already assigned, and the ship takes damage from an Aft attack, there is no other Aft damage card to deal. The damage is simply ignored.
How do shields interact with damage and breakthrough results, particularly with "Breakthrough" cards?
Damage Calculation: Damage is calculated from the total number of successes on the attack roll.
Shields' Role: Shields reduce incoming damage and cancel success results. Each shield point cancels one damage and removes one success result from the pool.
Breakthrough Cards: After the damage has been calculated and shields have been applied, you then check for "Breakthrough" results. If the number of remaining breakthrough results is equal to or greater than the target's "Resilience" value, you can "spend" those results to deal a damage card. This does not replace the normal damage dealt by the attack.
Multiple Cards: The rules are not explicit on whether you can spend enough breakthrough results to deal multiple damage cards in a single attack. The community's intuition is that this is not intended, but this is an area of ambiguity that would benefit from an official clarification.
The following FAQs relate to projectile units like torpedoes, probes, and escape pods
What is the purpose of probes and how do they interact with ship stats and officers?
Probes, like teams, can perform a standby action without a committed officer at a station. When a probe performs a test, such as a "Scan Anomaly" test, you use the stats listed on the probe's card. The stats on the probe card are separate from the ship's stats. The probe's main function is to act as a comms relay, which allows your ship to perform actions, such as a test, on a distant target by using the probe's stats from a further distance.
How does a probe work and what triggers its actions?
Probes are treated as projectiles. They can perform one action during the "Projectiles Activate" portion of the Standby Phase. An officer is not required or exhausted when the probe takes its action.
Do projectiles consume Endurance every time they activate, or only when they move?
Projectiles only consume Endurance when they Impulse (move). The distinction is important because while some projectiles, like torpedoes, have the "Inertia" keyword that forces them to move on every activation, other projectiles like probes and escape pods do not have this keyword. Therefore, a probe or escape pod can remain stationary and still be on the board without losing Endurance.
How are probes launched, and which ships can launch them?
Probes are launched in the same manner as a torpedo. While the Galaxy class ship has a native "Probe" action, other ships such as the Constellation class can also launch them. Additionally, there are equipment cards that can be used to give a ship the ability to launch probes. The "readied probes status" on the Dominion ship alert dials refers to a different mechanic and does not mean they can natively launch probes.
Can a torpedo's turn timer be set to "0"?
Yes, you can set a torpedo's timer to "0." A torpedo with a timer of "0" will be launched but will not have any endurance to move. It will only be able to detonate if it is already in range of a target during the standby phase, otherwise, it will simply disappear.
What is the difference between launching a torpedo with 0 endurance versus 1 endurance?
According to the provided FAQ, there is no difference between launching a torpedo with 0 endurance and launching one with 1 endurance. In both cases, the torpedo will be removed from the board at the end of the round in which it was launched.
Why does the Galaxy class ship list a total of 3 photon torpedoes on its board but only allow 2 to be fired?
The Galaxy class can only fire a total of two torpedoes per round. The number "3" on the board is a visual representation of the torpedo capacity, but the white number "2" in the black circle indicates the total number of attacks you can make of that type. You can choose to fire two torpedoes forward, or one forward and one backward, but you cannot fire a third torpedo. The overall number of torpedoes you can fire (2) is also used to determine the maximum number of projectiles you can have at the end of a round.
Can a torpedo explode immediately on launch if fired at point-blank range, before the standby phase?
No, a torpedo does not detonate immediately on launch, even at point-blank range. Its detonation conditions are checked during the Standby Phase. Additionally, the launch tool is designed to be long enough that a launching ship will not be at risk of its own torpedo's detonation. If you can't fit the tool, you can't launch the torpedo. The "Friendly Fire" rule on the torpedo card does not apply to the launching unit.
How do torpedoes work?
Activation: Torpedoes are launched during the combat action of a priority or standby order. They have an endurance token that is replaced by a countdown sequence in each Standby Phase. Torpedoes activate in the Standby Phase, after ships have had their standby activations. This can create a tactical opportunity for the player who has already activated their ships to fire a torpedo at an opponent who has not yet taken their standby action.
Detonation: A torpedo detonates if it is within 1 inch of an opposing unit during the Standby Phase, but not on launch. They do not explode if destroyed.
Interaction: Torpedoes are considered units. They can be targeted by sensor locks and other attacks.
Officer Skills: Officer skills, such as Ordnance, do not apply to a torpedo's detonation.
Sensor Lock: If a target is sensor-locked, a torpedo can gain re-rolls equal to its own Instruments Power and can travel along the fore sides of its token.
When does a torpedo detonate during the standby phase?
A torpedo's detonation is checked both before and after it moves during the standby phase. If it is within its detonation range of an enemy ship (e.g. 1 inch for a photon torpedo) at the beginning of its activation, it will detonate immediately before moving. If it moves and its final position is within detonation range, it will detonate. However, if a torpedo's movement would cause it to overlap with another unit, it must be moved back along its path until it is no longer overlapping, and then the detonation check is made.
Do torpedoes explode if they make contact with a target during their move?
No, torpedoes do not detonate upon contact with a target while they are moving. The detonation check is only performed at the beginning and at the end of the torpedo's move during the standby phase.
For any torpedo attacks, do you get a reroll based off the green instruments power on the torpedo card or do you need to have a sensor lock on the target for torpedoes to get rerolls? Does the sensor lock only allow rerolls for primary weapons? If I have a sensor lock do I get additional rerolls for torpedoes (meaning I reroll with torp instrument power and then the sensor lock if I need to)?
A torpedo only gets rerolls on its attack if the target has a friendly sensor lock. The number of dice you can reroll is equal to the torpedo's own green Instruments Power value, not the Instruments Power of the ship that launched it. The sensor lock does not grant additional rerolls on top of the torpedo's Instruments Power; it is a prerequisite for being able to use those rerolls at all.
Is the detonation of a torpedo mandatory if it meets the conditions?
Yes, the detonation of a torpedo is mandatory if it is within 1 inch of an opposing unit either before or after its move in the standby phase. The process is a simple check:
Check for detonation at the torpedo's current location.
If it doesn't detonate, move the torpedo.
Check for detonation at its new location.
There is no discretion for the player to choose whether or not it detonates if the conditions are met.
How do torpedoes perform mission actions, especially given the "Inertia" rule?
The "Inertia" rule states that a torpedo with 1 or more endurance must activate to move during the standby phase. This means that for a torpedo to perform a mission action, it must be launched with 0 endurance and be within the correct range of the objective. This allows it to perform the mission action during the standby phase instead of being forced to move and then disappear. It's noted that torpedoes are generally poor at these tests and the explosive detonation from their profile does not apply.
When a torpedo is locked onto a target, can it move partially backwards or change its orientation?
No, a torpedo cannot move backwards. The "Inertia" keyword forces it to move its full speed forward. A torpedo's movement is also very limited; it never changes its orientation as it moves. The movement tool is used by placing it along one of the torpedo's sides, and the torpedo is then placed along the tool's length, maintaining its original orientation. A sensor lock only allows a torpedo to use its fore sides for movement in addition to its lateral sides, which provides more options for navigating around the board, even to move away from the locked target to hit a different ship.
When two opposing players fire torpedoes at point-blank range, can their torpedoes be placed so that they overlap?
No, torpedoes, like all projectiles, cannot overlap another unit or feature on the board, including other torpedoes. When firing multiple torpedoes, they must be angled slightly to form a spread to avoid overlapping.
How does target locking affect torpedoes, especially those already in flight?
Existing Torpedoes: A target lock applies to all friendly torpedoes already in flight towards the locked target, regardless of whether the lock was achieved before or after the torpedo was launched.
Shared Telemetry: Target locks can be shared between friendly ships. A torpedo fired by one ship can benefit from a target lock established by another friendly ship.
Rerolls: A torpedo benefits from a target lock by gaining re-rolls equal to its own Instruments Power, not the firing ship's.
Maneuverability: A target lock allows a torpedo to use its fore sides for movement, which gives it more maneuverability. However, this only applies if the torpedo is within its own sensor range of the locked target. If it is outside this range, it can only move in a straight line.
Probes: Probes cannot perform a target lock test as it is not an action listed on their card. They can, however, provide a comms relay for a ship to make the test.
What happens if a torpedo, launched when players were hostile, detonates when they are no longer hostile?
The detonation of the torpedo would be considered a hostile act, as an attack is defined as hostile. The initial action of launching the torpedo is also a hostile act.
Hostile vs. Aggressive: The discussion highlights a separate distinction between "hostile" and "aggressive" acts. "Hostile" acts (like attacking a ship) break a non-hostile status. "Aggressive" acts (like attacking an auxiliary unit or a team) do not.
Shooting Down Torpedoes: Attacking a torpedo is an aggressive act, not a hostile one, so players can engage in a "torpedo battle" without breaking a non-hostile status.
Scoring: It's noted that even if a torpedo destroys a ship after the status flips from hostile to friendly, you would not gain any points for it.
Is firing a torpedo considered an aggressive or hostile action, even if it is not targeting an enemy?
Yes, firing a torpedo is explicitly a hostile action, regardless of the target or the intention. It is considered an act of aggression even if used for area denial or fired in the general direction of an empty space.
Can a probe sit in a stationary position and continue to scan indefinitely?
A probe can remain stationary and perform other actions because it does not have the "Inertia" keyword that forces torpedoes to move. Its endurance is only reduced after an Impulse maneuver.
The following FAQs relate to team units
How many teams can be created by a single ship in a single turn?
A single ship can theoretically create a total of three teams in a single turn.
Commodore Action: The Commodore can issue a "Create Team" order from the Captain's Chair to the Cargo Bay.
Priority Action: Another officer can perform a "Create Team" priority action at the Cargo Bay.
Ready Phase Ability: The "Ready Phase" ability in the Cargo Bay also allows you to create a team.
Section Capacity: Each section of a ship (e.g., Cargo Bay) has a capacity of one team per player. To create a new team, a previously created team must be moved out of the section.
Officer Movement: When a team is formed, you can attach any number of friendly officers to it, including those who are already committed to a station. The attached officers are then moved to the team's location. This allows for complex chains of actions to create and deploy multiple teams and officers in a single round.
Do away teams have to take the "Unstable" test?
Yes, if an away team is within 2 inches of a feature that requires an "Unstable" test, they must perform the test. However, scenarios are designed to make it unlikely for an away team to be in proximity to such a feature.
At the end of a campaign mission, what happens to any teams that have been formed but not disbanded?
According to an update in the game's FAQ (page 7), any teams that have not been disbanded by the end of a campaign mission are automatically disbanded. They are returned to the nearest ship or, if there isn't one, to a ship on your roster, which in turn increases your crew dial value. This ensures that you don't lose crew members between missions.
What happens to teams that still exist at the end of a campaign mission (after turn 6)?
Teams that have not been disbanded by the end of a campaign mission are disbanded and returned to the nearest friendly ship in the play area. If there is no friendly ship, they are returned to a ship on the player's roster. The crew on the teams are then added back to the crew dial of the returning ship.
When a team is inside a friendly unit (like a ship), what stats does it use for tests, and can it perform station actions?
Stats for Tests: A team always uses its own stats for tests, not the stats of the ship it is on.
Station Actions: A team cannot perform station actions. Their actions are limited to those on their unit card and those specified by the mission.
Officers with Teams: Officers attached to a team are also restricted to the team's limited actions. However, an officer can move from a team to an open station in the same section of the ship during the priority phase to perform a station action. They would need to relocate to reattach to the team in the ready phase.
Sisko Example: An officer like Sisko, when attached to a team, is considered part of the team, not the larger ship unit. This is an important distinction for abilities that refer to "being in the same location."
When do teams activate during the standby phase, and can they activate during the priority phase?
Teams activate during the Standby Phase 1, along with ships. They cannot activate during the Priority Phase unless an officer is attached to the team. An officer can command the team in the Priority Phase, and the team can then take a second action on its own during the Standby Phase.
When an away team with peril tokens moves to a ship and then disbands, what happens to the peril?
The peril tokens stay with the team while it is on the ship. When the team is disbanded, the peril tokens are then assigned to the ship it disbanded on.
How does transporting officers and teams work?
Transporting is a single action that allows you to move one officer or one team (with any attached officers) at a time.
You cannot transport multiple teams at once.
The officer or team can be transported from any location on the ship to another location as long as it's within sensor range of the transporting unit's ship.
Transporting can also be used to add or remove officers from a team, which can be done at either the starting or final position of the transport.
Per the rules FAQ, transporter interference only applies at the destination of the transport, not the origin, which some players find counterintuitive and have house-ruled to apply at both ends for added drama.
When an officer attached to a team leads a test, do they gain the team's skills?
No, skills are not additive. When an officer leads a test for a team, you must choose to use either the officer's skills or the team's skills, but you cannot combine them.
The Hailing rules are a specific example of this, allowing you to choose whose skills to use. This principle applies to other tests as well. A team's skills would be used when it performs a standby action without an officer leading it.
Can you use a transport action to transport opposing teams and officers?
Based on a strict "rules as written" interpretation, the rules for personnel transport do not specify that the target must be "friendly," which suggests it may be possible to transport opposing officers and teams. However, this is widely believed to be an unintended consequence and not "rules as intended."
Arguments against allowing this include:
It could lead to "transporter wars," where players simply beam enemy officers off their ships and into remote locations.
The rules for transporter interference only apply at the destination, which would make it easy to transport personnel off an opponent's shielded ship.
The "launching auxiliary units" rule explicitly specifies "friendly mobile personnel," suggesting that if the intent was to allow this for transport, it would have been specified.
The community consensus leans towards this being a loophole that will likely be addressed in a future rules clarification, but for now, it's a topic of debate and a potential house rule.
What are the conditions for an officer to be considered "vulnerable" and capturable by an enemy team?
The rules state that an opposing officer is considered "vulnerable" if they are at a team's location, are not attached to a friendly team, and either of the following is true:
There are no teams friendly to that officer at the location.
The location is an opposing unit or a neutral feature.
This means that an officer on your own ship can be vulnerable if there are no friendly teams at their location. This allows an enemy team that has successfully boarded your ship to potentially capture officers. The way to counter this is to have a friendly team in place to protect the officer or to use a priority action to form a new team to respond.
If an opposing assault team boards the Galaxy class ship at the bridge section on the same turn that the ship plans to separate, what happens?
See Ship & Auxiliary Units section for clarification.
The following FAQs relate to unit movement
Can you warp within a star system?
Yes, the rules do not prohibit warping within a system. You can warp in a system as long as you do not perform a turning maneuver.
Can a ship warp directly from one system to another, without stopping in the deep space in between?
Yes, a ship can warp directly from one system to another as long as it has the warp factor to cover the distance in a straight line. There is no rule requiring a ship to stop in deep space between systems.
What happens if a ship's base is straddling a system boundary after a warp maneuver? Is it considered in-system or interstellar space?
If any part of a unit's base is overlapping any part of a system, it is considered to be in the system. This is based on the "Systems" section of the rulebook on page 14, which clarifies that the system extends to the outer edge of the boundary markers.
Can you move through enemy ships during impulse or warp maneuvers?
Yes, you can move through enemy ships during both impulse and warp. The rules for collision specify that you only check for overlaps at the end of the maneuver, meaning you cannot end your move with your base overlapping an enemy ship. However, a ship can be "blocked" or "cornered" if a warp maneuver is not possible due to a lack of space, as warp does not allow you to turn. Large ships can be used to create physical blockades that prevent other large ships from being able to complete a maneuver.
How do you properly execute a "come about" maneuver, especially for turns other than a full 180 degrees?
The "come about" maneuver involves rotating the ship's base. For a precise 180-degree turn, you can place two marker tokens in the fore and aft slots on the ship's base to create a reference line, or use the movement tool to align the ship at the start and end of the rotation. For turns less than 180 degrees, the rules simply state that you "rotate" the ship. The common practice is to do this by eye, or by using the movement tool as a guide, aligning the ship's base to the center line of the tool, rotating, and then realigning on the other side. There is no special tool for this.
The following FAQs relate to objects including objectives , phenomena, and anomalies.
When an anomaly token is scanned, does it remain on the board?
No, anomaly tokens are removed from the board once they are revealed.
Can a ship scan an anomaly if they are in a different zone, such as a system and deep space?
No, a ship can only scan an anomaly if both units are within the same zone (either the same system or deep space). The rules on page 14 of the Learn to Play book clarify that an object is only considered in range if both the scanning unit and the object are in the same zone.
For an asteroid or comet with an "abundant" value, does that value ever get depleted?
No, the "abundant" value on an asteroid or comet never gets depleted. You can gain extra advantage tokens by exceeding the difficulty value, up to the maximum "abundant" value. However, units must be within 2 inches and not already have an advantage to perform a test.
When a mission complication is revealed that requires adding or removing "Solid" objective tokens, what happens to the existing "Ping" objective tokens from the overture?
According to the rules for complication setup (page 44 of the Additional Rules), all existing "Ping" objective tokens are removed before the new "Solid" objective tokens are added. The only exception is if the complication's text specifically states otherwise.
The following FAQs relate to orders and actions for example "Fire Weapons"
For a weapon with a cost of 1-3 weapon power, can I use a combination of weapon power (🟠) and reserve energy (⚡) to roll more than three dice?
No, you cannot. For an attack with a weapon costing 1-3 weapon power, you can spend a combined total of up to 3 weapon power and/or reserve energy. The maximum power total you can spend on a single attack with that weapon is 3. However, it's also important to remember that the total reserve energy you can use for all attacks is limited to your ship's current weapons power value.
To fire a weapon, do you need to have a weapon power value greater than zero, even if you have reserve power?
Yes, you must have a weapon power value on your status dial to fire. The rules state that you can only use reserve power up to the value of your current weapon power. Therefore, if your weapon power is zero, you cannot use any reserve power to fire.
What is the purpose of the "Fire Weapons" and "Weapons Power" tokens, and when are they used?
Although the rules do not explicitly detail their function, the "Fire Weapons" token (which is also the "Weapons Power" token) is used as a marker to indicate that a unit (ship, auxiliary unit, or team) has already performed a "Fire Weapons" action. It is placed on the unit after the action and should be removed at the end of the round. This helps players remember which units have already attacked.
Can you perform a "Fire Weapons" action and a "Demolition Salvo" mission action in the same round, since both use the tactical station?
Yes, you can. The "Demolition Salvo" mission action is separate from the "Fire Weapons" action. While a ship can only perform the "Fire Weapons" action once per round, it can still use its tactical station for other actions, such as the "Demolition Salvo" mission action, in the same round.
Can a ship fire its weapons if its reserve energy is at zero?
Yes, a ship can still fire its weapons even if its reserve energy is at zero, as long as it has weapons power (🟠) on its alert status dial. In this scenario, the ship can only use its available weapons power and cannot "dip into" any reserve energy to increase the number of dice rolled.
Do ships block the line of sight (LoS) for weapon attacks?
Yes, if the line of sight from the attacking ship to the target ship is crossed by the end of another ship, the line of sight is blocked. The only exception is if the line of sight crosses the same end of the target ship.
?Are attacks considered a type of test in the game?
Yes, attacks are a "special type of test." While they have additional rules, such as for damage, they are a subtype of a test. This means that officer abilities that trigger when another officer leads a test can be applied to attacks.
This has led to some debate about whether these abilities should apply to every individual attack within a single "Fire Weapons" action.
While the consensus seems to be that they would apply to each test separately unless specified otherwise, this is a point of ongoing discussion and is expected to be clarified in future rules updates.
Could you clarify the rules for firing weapons, using the Defiant and Jem'Hadar fighters as examples?
The rules are a bit more flexible than initially thought, and players may not be maximizing their attacks.
Firing All Weapons: A ship can fire all of its weapons in a single "Fire Weapons" action, provided there are enough targets lined up within the weapon arcs and the ship has enough weapon power (🟠) and reserve energy (⚡) to pay for them.
Total Power: You can spend a combined total of your current weapon power value plus an equal amount of reserve energy. For the Defiant, with 5 weapon power, you can spend up to a total of 10 power (5 from weapon power and 5 from reserve energy).
Splitting Attacks: You can split this total power among multiple attacks. For example, a target directly in front of the Defiant is in the arc of the Phaser Cannons (fore port and fore starboard) and the Phaser Emitters (fore and all arcs). You could choose to spend 2 power on each weapon for a total of 8, plus 2 power for torpedoes, or you could concentrate your power, spending 4 on each Phaser Cannon attack.
Jem'Hadar Fighters: A Jem'Hadar fighter can make two Phased Polaron Beam attacks at the same target, as long as the target is in the fore arc, in addition to firing a torpedo.
How does the "Fire Weapons" action work, particularly regarding multiple attacks, weapon types, and the "Pulse" keyword?
The "Fire Weapons" action allows you to perform the "Attack" procedure with each of your ship's weapons, one at a time, provided you have enough energy and the targets are within the weapon arcs and range.
No Combining Weapons: You cannot combine dice rolls from multiple different weapons into a single attack, even if they are in the same weapon group (like phasers).
One Attack Per Weapon: Each individual weapon listed on your card can only be fired once per "Fire Weapons" action.
"Pulse" Keyword: The "Pulse X" keyword applies to each individual attack. So, if a weapon has "Pulse 2," you would get two re-rolls for each separate attack made with that weapon. For example, the Defiant's two Phaser Cannons would be two separate attacks, and each would get two re-rolls.
Single Action, Multiple Attacks: The "Fire Weapons" action is a single action for the round, but it allows for multiple individual attacks with different weapons. These attacks do not have to be directed at the same target.
How does sensor range work, and how is it affected by the "Instruments Power" stat?
A ship's sensor range is determined by its listed range and arc. For a Jem'Hadar fighter, the base sensor range is 4 inches at 360 degrees. However, in the front arc, it has an augmented range of 4 inches plus its "Instruments Power" value (2 in this case), extending its sensor range to a total of 6 inches. Therefore, to scan an object outside the front arc, you must be within 4 inches, but within the front arc, you can scan up to 6 inches away. The Instruments Power also provides rerolls on many tests.
When you pass over an anomaly token while at warp, and a test is required, which officer performs the test?
The officer who initiated the warp action is the one who must perform the test. You cannot choose a different officer.
When an anomaly is revealed and a test is required, can an officer be assigned to lead the test?
The group's consensus is that the officer who revealed the anomaly leads the test. This applies to actions like "Scan Anomaly" or warping over an anomaly. If an anomaly is revealed during the Hazard Phase, there is no officer assigned to lead the test.
What are the common rule clarifications for the "Fire Weapons" action in the Quick Play Guide?
There are a few points of confusion that have been cleared up in more recent versions of the rules.
Expert Dice: An officer with an Ordnance of 2 should add two black expert dice to the roll, not just one.
Total Power: You can spend a combined total of your printed weapons power and an equal amount of reserve power on an attack. This means you can spend up to twice your weapons power on an attack if you have the reserve energy available.
Leading Attacks: An officer can lead the entire "Fire Weapons" action. The text in the guide that suggests the officer cannot lead a second attack with the same weapon is misleading. The player may choose to fire the weapon only once to save energy or because the officer's skill, such as Ordnance, only applies to the first attack.
Can a team use its skills when performing an action, and can an attached officer's skills be used?
You can use the teams skills OR the officers skills if "leading", do not combine the values
Team's Skills: Yes, a team can use its own skills (such as Skirmish or Field Craft) when performing a standby action. The skills on the team's card are intended for use when the team is making a test.
Officer's Skills: Yes, an attached officer's skills can be used for a test if "leading" the team.
Standby Action Timing: Teams activate during the standby phase at the same time as ships, not with projectiles. Players activate their units alternately. The "Fire Weapons" token can be used on its reverse side to mark units that have already performed a standby action.
Can a single team perform multiple priority actions in a round if it has multiple officers attached?
Yes, a team with multiple officers attached can perform multiple priority actions. Each officer can be committed to perform a separate priority action, similar to how a ship can utilize multiple officers for different actions in a single round. A team is considered a single unit with one section but no stations, and it can have any number of officers attached to it.
Can a team perform the mission action for the "Battlefield Rescue Overture," and how does it work?
Yes, teams can perform the mission action. Although the mission specifies that the action is performed from the Instruments or Medbay station, this only applies to units that have stations (like ships).
Teams, which do not have stations, can perform any mission action as long as they are within their comms range of the objective. When performing the action, the team uses its own stats for the test, not the ship's. This allows a team to be on the objective and get the breakthrough effect.
If all of a player's officers are exhausted during the Priority Phase, can they still perform actions like movement?
No. To perform an action in the Priority Phase, a player must select and commit a readied officer to lead that action. If all officers are exhausted, you cannot perform any Priority Phase actions.
However, you can still perform actions in the Standby Phase, as these do not require a committed officer. This includes standby movement actions and many mission actions, as long as they are not marked with the Priority Action symbol (☝️). The trade-off is that you will not get the benefit of an officer's skills or expertise dice for these actions.
Can an officer be committed to lead a test during a standby action?
No, officers cannot be committed to lead standby actions or tests. Standby actions are performed by the unit itself, without an officer's leadership. Therefore, a ship performing a standby action test will only use its base stats and will not gain any expertise dice from officers. However, teams and probes can still use their own skills to gain expertise dice for a standby action test, as these skills are on their unit cards.
The following FAQs relate to the specific game tokens
When a unit that has been sensor-locked makes a warp maneuver, what causes the sensor lock to be removed?
A sensor lock is removed if the locked unit "makes an engage warp maneuver and enters a different system." The community consensus is that this means the locked unit must enter a system that is different from the one where it was originally locked, and different from the one occupied by the locking ship. If a locked unit warps into deep space, or if the locking unit follows it to a new system, the lock remains, as the ships are still considered to be in the "same" area (not different systems from each other).
The following FAQs relate to the directive cards of various factions
Do hostile acts also count as aggressive acts, or are they separate?
Hostile acts and aggressive acts are separate and do not trigger each other. A hostile act (e.g., attacking a ship) does not automatically count as an aggressive act for the purposes of a directive, such as the Exploration directive.
On the "Tactful Approach" Dominion directive, how does the hail action work? Does it require a formal hail or can you simply flip the directive?
The hail action on the "Tactful Approach" Dominion directive does not require a formal hail procedure. It is a passive ability that can be resolved during the hail phase. If the condition is met (trailing by 2 or more victory points), the player can simply choose to flip the directive to the hostile side. No target or further action is required.
Regarding the "Test Local Powers" Dominion directive, which mentions using a Dominion shuttle: Do the Dominion currently have shuttles in the game? What if they can't be used with this directive?
The Dominion does not currently have shuttles available in the core set. The inclusion of "Dominion shuttle" on the directive is considered "future proofing" for later expansions that may introduce Dominion auxiliary units.
In the meantime, the directive could be used with a shuttle from another faction if that faction is allied with the Dominion via "Sway," as per the rules.
In the "Combat Directives" mission, how do players score points from hostile acts, particularly when a ship is disabled or destroyed?
The community has identified some ambiguities in the rules as written that can lead to counter-intuitive outcomes:
Federation Directive: A Federation player's directive rewards them for disabling a ship without destroying it. If they disable a ship and then destroy it with a subsequent attack in the same action, they would still gain points for the disable, which seems uncharacteristic of the directive's intent.
Dominion Directive: A Dominion player's directive rewards them for destroying a ship. If they disable a ship and give it a "Warp Core Breach," and the ship is subsequently destroyed during the Hazard Phase (not by the player's hostile act), they get no points, which seems preposterous.
While the rules as written support these interpretations, the community agrees that they are likely not the intended outcomes. House rules are often used to ensure a more balanced and thematic experience, with the hope that the developers will provide an official FAQ to clarify these specific scenarios.
The following FAQs relate to game setup
I see the game uses blue and orange to represent the two factions (Federation and Dominion) and for determining priority. What do you do when playing a match that doesn't fit this setup, like Federation versus Federation?
The colors are a simple way to distinguish between the two players and do not have to correspond to the factions in the game.
Can a player use multiple "Analysis" results to trigger a kicker effect multiple times in a single test?
No, with one exception. Kicker effects from a single test can only be triggered once, even if you have multiple "Analysis" results, unless the kicker symbol has a plus sign (+) next to it. In cases where there is a plus sign, the action text will specify that multiple results can be spent to trigger the effect multiple times.
If you can't place an object because there's no room (e.g. 8 objectives and there's no room) what do you do?
If there is no room to legally place an object on the board during a mission setup, the object is not placed. The discussion confirms that this is the official interpretation, though it is considered a very unlikely scenario. The players in the conversation chose to handle it with a house rule, but the formal rule is to simply not place the object if a legal position cannot be found.
When the "Tactical Extraction" complication is revealed, do the flags from the overture remain, or do you start with a clean slate?
When a complication is revealed, all control markers, including flags, are removed from play. This is part of the complication's setup rules (as stated on page 44 of the Additional Rules). Therefore, all progress from the overture's flags is reset, and players start over with a blank slate for the new objectives. This rule generally applies to all complications that involve control markers.
The following FAQs relate to the Hazard Phase
Do neutral units trigger hazards during the Hazard Phase?
The rules are ambiguous on this point. While the "Learn to Play" guide states that "each player resolves their HAZARD effects," it is unclear who would resolve a hazard effect for a neutral unit. The community has interpreted this to mean that neutral units do trigger hazards, and the trailing player would resolve the effects for them, as they typically control the neutral unit's actions. This seems to be the most logical approach, as it creates an interesting dynamic where a neutral unit could be affected by a hazard it triggers.
The following FAQs relate to the Ready Phase
Are Ready Phase abilities considered "actions"? And if a station is damaged, does it lose its Ready Phase abilities?
Ready Phase abilities are not explicitly defined as "actions" in the rulebook, but rather as "procedures" or "abilities" that are resolved during a specific phase. This distinction is important for a couple of reasons:
Damage Cards: The rules state that a damage card can take a station "offline" and disable any "actions" associated with it. Since Ready Phase abilities are not technically "actions," the community consensus is that a damaged station can still perform its Ready Phase abilities, such as regenerating power in Engineering or creating a team in Cargo.
Contested Locations: Similarly, the group's interpretation is that a contested location (due to an opposing away team) only disables the stations, but not the location's Ready Phase abilities.
The community agrees that this is a point of ambiguity in the rules and has requested clarification.
Is the number of officers you can ready and relocate during the Ready Phase per ship or in total for your fleet?
The number of officers you can ready and relocate is in total for your fleet, not per ship. According to the "Ready Phase" rules (page 13 in the Learn to Play guide), you can ready up to three officers in total and relocate up to three officers in total across your entire fleet. This is a core aspect of the game's resource management.
Do Ready Phase abilities (also known as "phase abilities") require an officer to be committed to perform them?
No, Ready Phase abilities do not require an officer to be committed. These abilities are not considered a "priority order" or "standby order" and are resolved during a specific phase. An officer can be present, and might be required for some abilities, but they do not need to be committed to the action. For example, a ship can perform the "gain energy" ability from its Engineering section without a committed officer.
During campaign missions, how does a ship regenerate reserve energy during the Ready Phase, and what prevents it from doing so?
Regenerating reserve energy is a Ready Phase ability, which every ship's Engineering section has. It is a passive ability and does not require an officer to be committed to the Engineering station. However, an officer or team present in Engineering can increase the amount of energy gained.
There is a debate about whether a damage card in the Engineering section or an enemy team holding the station would prevent a ship from regenerating power.
Rules as Written: The rules for an "offline" station due to a damage card only state that "actions" cannot be taken, and Ready Phase abilities are not technically "actions." This suggests that a ship could still regenerate power.
Rules as Intended: The community notes that thematically, a damaged or contested Engineering section should prevent power regeneration. This is an area of ambiguity that has been noted for clarification in a future FAQ.
Do "Ready Phase" abilities, such as regenerating power in Engineering or forming a team in the Cargo Bay, count as "actions"? And if a station is offline due to a damage card or an enemy team, can you still use its Ready Phase abilities?
The community consensus is that Ready Phase abilities are not considered "actions" in the same way as priority or standby orders. The rules for damage cards state that they take a station "offline," which disables its actions.
Based on a strict reading of this rule, a damaged station can still perform its Ready Phase abilities, which are not explicitly defined as actions. However, this is considered a point of ambiguity and a potential rules loophole. Many players believe that, for thematic and game-balance reasons, an offline or contested station should be unable to perform any functions, including Ready Phase abilities, and hope for a clarification in a future FAQ.
The following FAQs relate to hails and the Hail Phase
Can a disabled ship open or answer hails?
A disabled ship cannot open or answer hails because these are considered "procedures," and a disabled ship cannot perform procedures. The discussion points out that the rules refer to "refusing a hail" as a procedure, implying that all hailing actions are procedures. The only exception would be for teams on a disabled ship, which might be able to perform these actions if the mission or their card allows for it.
Can you hail a specific opposing team on an enemy ship to bypass the ship's Diplomacy stats?
No, the consensus is that this would not be allowed. The ruling is that when hailing, you must select the largest available unit, which would be the enemy ship itself. You cannot hail a specific subunit (like a team) inside a larger unit to bypass the normal rules.
The following FAQs relate to the campaign rules
Do crew teams created during a campaign mission automatically re-absorb into the ships at the end of the mission?
No, you record the state of your ships exactly as it is at the end of the campaign mission, with no automatic adjustments.
For a campaign mission, what is the maximum number of officers you can have on a ship?
The rules state that you can have a total of five "core" officers for your fleet, plus one "line" officer for each ship. So, if you have two ships in your fleet, you would have a total of seven officers (five core officers and two line officers). Any additional officers you acquire through campaign rewards are added to your overall pool of available officers to choose from at the start of a mission, but the limit of five core officers for the mission's task force remains.
In the "Dominion Campaign Strategic Goals" sheet, why are there three check boxes for "Gods Don't Make Mistakes"?
The three check boxes allow you to inspire your ships three separate times. When you inspire a ship, if its crew value is at or above its starting value, you increase the crew value by 1. If the crew value is below its starting value, you gain an advantage token instead. This goal is tied to having either a Founder or the Female Changeling as your commodore.
Can an officer's "Recovery" value be used after each campaign mission, or only at the end of the entire campaign?
An officer's "Recovery" value is used after each campaign mission, not just at the end of the entire campaign. This is part of the post-mission roster update procedure, which is performed after every mission.
I have a situation where I lost both of my Jem'hadar fighters in Mission 2. They only had basic crew, no unique officers. I currently have 7 SP to spend. My main confusion is the order and timing of the Repair and Triage phases?
Destroyed Ships: If a ship is destroyed, you must spend Strategic Points (SP) to replace it, as per the "running out of ships" rule.
Officers & Triage: Line officers (like the Vorta Supervisor) are not tracked individually. You automatically get a new one with each new ship, so you don't need to spend points to bring them back. Any other officers on a destroyed ship are "lost" and must be replaced by spending SP on "Individual Cloning" or by buying new officers.
Repair & Triage Points: These points are spent at the end of a mission. You cannot carry them over.
Strategic Points: SP is carried over between missions. However, if you do not have enough ships or officers to form your task force for the next mission, you must spend SP to get them, and this spending can reduce your SP to a minimum of 0.
For the first mission of the Dominion campaign, how many officers do you start with and how do you assign them?
You begin the mission with a total of seven officers:
Two Line Officers: One Vorta Supervisor is automatically assigned to each of your two ships (the Jem'Hadar fighter and the battle cruiser).
Five Core Officers: You also have a pool of five core officers: the Jem'Hadar First, Jem'Hadar Second, Karema Researcher, Vorta Diplomat, and the Founder (who serves as the Commodore).
You can assign these five core officers to your ships however you like. They are not permanently tied to a specific ship and can be reassigned in future missions. For Mission 1, the Commodore must be assigned to a captain's chair to begin the game.
Can a player acquire permanent upgrades like "Gods Don't Make Mistakes" multiple times by checking all the boxes?
No, while some upgrades can be acquired multiple times, the "Gods Don't Make Mistakes" and "Jem'Hadar Alphas" upgrades were updated in the official FAQ (page 7) to have only one checkbox. This means they can only be acquired once. The presence of multiple checkboxes on the printed version is a known error.
Does the order of "Convalescence" and "Triage" matter during the "Update Roster" step in a campaign? For example, can an injured officer who convalesces become available to determine the Triage value?
Yes, the order matters. According to the Campaign Guide (page 5), you must follow the steps in the "Update Roster" section in order. "Convalescence" and "Drydock" are resolved after "Triage" and "Repair". Therefore, an officer who convalesces to become available cannot then be used to determine the Triage value for that same roster update step.
Equipment Roster: Are Multiple Instances Required for Multiple Copies?
if you want to equip multiple ships with the same piece of equipment in a campaign, you must have an instance of that equipment on your roster for each ship. You cannot simply spend Strategic Points (SP) to add an equipment type to your roster once and then use Flex Points (FP) to equip it as many times as you like. Each ship must have its own copy of the equipment and pay the associated cost.
The following FAQs relate to story and incident missions
In the "Mutual Suspicions" mission, what is the correct "Massive" value for the objectives, as it is not specified on the card?
The community consensus is to assume a "Massive" value of 1 for the objectives since a specific value is not listed. The rules for "Massive" features typically require units to stay more than 2 inches away from them.
How does the "Strange Relic" test in Mission 1 of the "Into the Unknown" campaign work?
When the "Strange Relic" anomaly is revealed, you must perform a test. The unit that revealed the anomaly is the one that resolves the test.
With an Officer: If a ship revealed the anomaly by using a "Scan Anomaly" order led by an officer, you can use the officer's skills.
Without an Officer: If the anomaly is revealed in the Hazard Phase (when no officer is committed), you can only use the ship's base Science stat, without any expertise dice from officers.
With a Probe: Probes are the ideal units for this test because they have the relevant Biology skill listed on their card. When a probe exposes the anomaly (which they can do via a "Scan Anomaly" action or during the Hazard Phase), it can gain an expertise die from its Biology skill for the test.
In Mission 3, when the Federation player receives a "Constellation-class Starship" as a reinforcement, is it a generic ship or one from their roster? What happens if the one on their roster has been destroyed?
This is a point of ambiguity in the rules, but the community has arrived at a likely interpretation.
The mission states that the reinforcement is a ship from the player's roster.
The rules for a campaign state that if a player runs out of ships during setup, they can spend Strategic Points (SP) to replace a destroyed ship.
Therefore, the consensus is that if your Constellation-class ship has been destroyed, you would spend the required SP to bring it back at medium yellow damage and then deploy it as a reinforcement.
The wording in the rulebook, particularly in the Advanced Rules, is not entirely clear, but this interpretation aligns with the campaign's mechanics for managing a fleet over time.
When setting up an incident mission, do players need to bring their entire complication deck, and is it a shared deck?
Based on the discussion, the community's understanding is that there is only one shared complication deck used by both players. Players can agree to remove certain complication cards from the deck if they wish to avoid them, as long as there are enough cards left to perform the required random draws (drawing two each to select one). The rules do not require each player to have their own complete complication deck.
In the "Missing Crew" complication, how do players win, and what is the strategic intent of the card?
The "Missing Crew" complication is unique because it can easily lead to a mutual loss if a successful hail is not achieved. The core of the card is about making a difficult choice that aligns with Star Trek's themes of cooperation and sacrifice.
Winning: The card's design makes it very hard to win individually. A successful hail requires one player to have more victory points and for the hail to succeed, which grants a win to that player.
Losing: If the hail fails, both players lose the mission. This mechanic, as noted by the community, is a weakness of incident missions, as it can encourage players to "throw" the game for a consequence-free loss.
Directives: A key strategic element is the directives. The complication's directives are all blue, meaning that if an opponent continues to engage in hostile acts, they will receive negative victory points. This can be an interesting incentive for a Federation player to choose this complication, as it penalizes the opponent for combat, potentially allowing the Federation player to win through mission objectives.
Campaigns: Incident missions can be integrated into a campaign, which provides a stronger incentive for players to cooperate and save an officer, even if it means losing the mission, since the life of a valuable officer is at stake.
In the "Delicate Negotiations" mission, what are the rules for performing a mission hail against an objective marker?
Opposing a Hail: When you perform a mission hail against an objective marker that is claimed by an opponent, they are the opposing player in the hail and would therefore select a Trust token to oppose your roll.
Hailing Your Own Markers: You can make a mission hail against an objective marker that you have already claimed. In this case, there is no opposing player, and the hail would proceed without a Trust token being selected to oppose it.
Unit Requirement: The rules for hailing a mission objective state that you must be within sensor range of the objective or an enemy ship, but you still need to be within comms range of an opposing unit to perform a hail. This means that even if you are hailing an objective marker, your opponent still participates in the hail as long as one of their units is within range.
In the core set for Star Trek: Into the Unknown, there are no tests that specifically use the Mysticism or Commerce skills?
These skills are likely included for use in future expansions or campaign scenarios that may introduce new types of missions and tests.